sreetamadatta

Just another WordPress.com site

Numbed thoughts

on September 27, 2012

I am disturbed. Yesterday when I read the news about four men raping a 1.5 year old baby girl in Kolkata, I was at my wits end. For some minutes I sat still, not knowing how to react. There were several thoughts doing rounds in my mind.

1. How could someone even think about satisfying their libido with a small baby who is not even 2 years old? I remembered another news several years back where a 2 year old girl was raped and killed in Siliguri, North Bengal. Her body was found in a jungle adjacent to a tea garden.

2. Park Street, now renamed as Mother Teresa Sarani is known to be the safest part of the city for women. Since my college was there, the area is very close to my heart. I’ve treaded the place fearlessly even at around 10 pm during our college fests. Though I was always in a group including boys but still I never felt any insecurity or uncomfortable vibes during those wee hours. What is happening now? First the women and now the baby. How? Why?

2. The baby is the daughter of pavement dwellers. The perpetrators of the heinous act were also pavement dwellers and most probably drunk at that time. But is that an excuse? Can the homeless people be taken for granted? Don’t they deserve any security?

3. When will the administration wake up? The police refused to take the complaint of the woman who was molested in front of a pub in Park Street saying that she was a single mother, what was the need to go to a pub at night? What was the connection anyway? Her highness Ms Mamta Bannerjee claimed the incident to be a planned action of the CPI(M) to malign her reputation. How long will we tolerate your drama Ms Bannerjee?

4. After the Guwahati incident I was very shocked and surprised to see that some well educated high society people blaming the girl as she went to a pub wearing skimpy clothes. But what can we say to them now? What alibi do they have now? With my personal experiences I have realized that a girl’s appearance & clothes have nothing to do with the sick men to pounce on them. They just need someone to vent out their awful libido & frustration on something remotely resembling a female. I have faced such horrible situations in every place possible. In public transports, on the road, in my neighbourhood, even in Vaishno Devi temple. In all the cases I was wearing “normal” clothes such as salwar suit or jeans top or a frock/skirt (I was 10-12 years old when I started facing such incidents). The perpetrators? They range from young to old, decent to people from the lower strata of the society to spoilt brats of rich parents. You will find them in every age group, every strata of the society, every shape, size & colour to be precise.

5. There can be some steps to avoid/stop the eve teasing scenarios such as fight back & react. Hit them hard, shout to attract crowd, spray the pepper/chili thing on their eyes or whatever that scares them. They are basically cowards. They don’t have enough courage to face your wrath and will chicken out easily.

Unfortunately my reflex is really poor. It decides to take a hike to Antarctica when I need it the most in India! I wish I can get over this syndrome but has a very rare chance though. 😦 

If I ever have a daughter, I will make sure that she attends karate/martial art classes and receives a black belt! The singing, dancing, art & drama classes can follow suit.

6. The current state of affairs is sad, very sad. We live under a situation of perpetual threat. Anything can happen anytime. Isn’t their anyway we can curb it, remove it permanently from the society? Till it happens, let’s pledge to be stronger & sharper. Stay happy, stay safe.

Leave a Reply

