sreetamadatta

Just another WordPress.com site

The weekend & some realizations

on July 10, 2012

The second weekend of July has been a well spent one after almost one & a half months. There was no tension of unpacking, washing, expecting plumber or electrician… It has been terribly stressful over the past few weeks. Finally this weekend was absolutely dedicated to us.

I had no plans for Saturday. As usual I didn’t get lunch at work thinking that I have to finish by afternoon, come back and then eat. But then as fate would have it, my boss was there and somehow it got stretched till 3. šŸ˜¦

Realization: No matter how efficiently you plan your work, if your boss wants to keep you in office till late, you can hardly have your way.

After leaving office, I realized how hungry I was. While I was planning what to eat, my colleague K called & said he has also got free and we can go together till the metro station. After reaching the metro station, he said that another colleague V is on his way and they are planning to go to Jama Masjid, Old Delhi for lunch. K invited me to join as well. I declined twice but K kept on requesting me & I finally agreed. Thought it would be a good scope to interact with them better at a more personal level and I was terribly hungry anyway! So the 3 of us started our journey.

Realization: Unplanned ventures are always more fun than what we plan for long time. And many a times your plans fail but sudden plans are always successful!

After changing the metro twice and discussing about all sorts of things, personal and professional and 5 minutes of walk, we reached the famous Karims restaurant which is known all over the world for it’s biryani and other non veg delicacies. I had always wanted to visit this place but never got a place as it’s always crowded. But maybe due to the odd hour, we managed to get place to sit. Though I couldn’t try the biryani, but I relished the unique tangy & spicy flavour of jahangiri chicken! Sadly, V is following a veg diet as it’s a ritual among people in certain regions to eat veg food during the month of monsoon. Sadly he kept munching paneer paratha! šŸ˜¦ Even my roomie sounded very jealous when she heard that I’m hogging chicken while she can’t even think about having non veg! Funny customs I tell you! No offence to anyone, but if you are so much in love with your non veg and keep thinking when will this one month end and I can eat meat again… What’s the point really? Whom are they kidding? Anyway, to each to his own.

Realization: It’s not the custom that we wish to follow wholeheartedly but it’s got more to do with love for family and parents. Like, in cases of my roomie & V, they are not having non veg because they want to make their parents happy. As V said, “Mummy ne mana kiya hai to nahi khana chahiye.” My roomie N also came up with something similar, “My mom doesn’t force me to follow the veg diet but she’ll be happy & proud of me if I follow the custom.”

Old Delhi is dingy but it has it’s own charm which the posh & up market Delhi can never have. This time when my parents visit Delhi (which is 10 days from now! Yayy! :-D) I’ll take them to Old Delhi… Chandni Chowk, Parathe wali gali, Darya ganj, Jama Masjid, Red Fort & Karims… Only if I get time that is…

Sunday happened after 12.30. Yes, even SMJ couldn’t wake me up this time! B-) Had brunch with Aloo Puri cooked by my roomie followed by tea by me, we got ready for going out. Initially we had planned for movie but finally changed mind.

I had vowed against shopping but ended up buying 3 kurtis and a kurta.

Realization: I’m way passe that age when I could easily sport a funky t shirt with a humourous quote on it. All I think now is can I wear this to office n settle for kurta/kurti/shirt/nice & classy tops. I miss my 16-20 age! šŸ˜¦ Not that I don’t wear humourous quotation t shirts anymore, just that I don’t buy them anymore.

Retail therapy isn’t that bad untill I realized that my debit card is not working. It is 3 years old and most of the ATMs & shops can’t read the card. As per my vow of not indulging myself in shopping spree I didn’t care to withdraw money. I was almost out of money at the end of the day. Finally on Monday I went to the bank & applied for a new one.

Realization: I don’t work unless my ass is on fire. And I must change this attitude of mine.Period.

Now comes the binging part. We had gorged some yummy chilli potatoes in the midst of our shopping. We were not very hungry but decided to dine out as we were in no mood to cook after going back home. While my roomie wanted to have dosa, I had chicken burger & chicken nuggets from McDonalds. She was kinda jealous & passed a comment on how I don’t love her enough & having chicken in front of her! I too jokingly gave back to her that it is afterall her choice to have veg and am just following my choice.
P.S: She had only suggested that I can order something non veg as she wanted to have south indian food which I absolutely detest! Hence no question of sharing it. Had she ordered for veg chinese or north indian food, I would’ve happily shared.

Realization: I have stopped taking hints deliberately and doing things which pleases my heart.

Then came the toughest part of getting an auto. These lajpat nagar auto drivers hardly want to go where the passengers want them to go. He asked for Rs. 120 while in meter the fare would be Rs. 80. But since it was getting late & we were tired,we bargained and settled for Rs. 100. We told the fellow to charge us according to the meter but the guy was adament. Finally we reached home while the Monday blues already started hitting us.

Realization: There is corruption in every sphere of society. Both the auto fellow n we practised it. What right do we have to blame the politicians and other big shots? We and they are the ones to encourage Anna Hazare but behind his back compromise. Poor Anna Hazare…

2 responses to “The weekend & some realizations

  1. R's Mom says:

    Super weekend and even better gyans eh?

    Arey dont take your roomie’s words so seriously..you did the right thing babes šŸ™‚

  2. Sreetama says:

    Yes, after writing I saw that the realization part was more than the events! šŸ˜› Thought they were co-related! Hahaha! Yes I know that she was joking and after 2 years of togetherness, we have developed that understanding! Touchwood! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

